Arizona DUI Laws

“Driving Under the Influence” (DUI) is the official term used in Arizona while some other states use the term “Driving While Intoxicated” (DWI.) The two terms have become synonyms for each other and refer to drugged or drunk driving.

The DUI laws of Arizona explicitly forbid the operation of any form of motor transport in these circumstances:

  • When the operator of the vehicle has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8 or more
  • When they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs if the driver is to the slightest degree impaired

There is what is known as a “Not a drop” law in the state of Arizona. It states drivers under the of twenty-one years cannot drive with any amount of detectable alcohol in their body. Colloquially this is known as a “baby DUI.”

Incidentally the law includes what is defined as being in control of a motorized or electric vehicle as well as operating or driving a vehicle. The purpose is to prevent drunk driving prior to it commencing.

Arizona DUI Penalties

In Arizona, the circumstances of each case will determine the penalties for a DUI including the amount of previous convictions the individual may have as well as the blood alcohol content of the driver.

Impaired DUI (Blood Alcohol Content ranging from .08 to .149%)

  • Jail: The minimum term is 10 days but is subject to all but 1 day or twenty-four hours may be suspended on the completion of screening for alcohol
  • Fines: Minimum of $1,480
  • Suspended License: Minimum for 90 days
  • Ignition Interlock Device: 1-year mandatory (with a possible 6-month reduction)

Extreme DUI (Blood Alcohol Content ranging from .15 to .199%)

  • Jail: The minimum term is 10 days but is subject to all, but 9 days may be suspended on the completion of screening for alcohol
  • Fines: Minimum of $3,000
  • Suspended License: Minimum for 90 days
  • Ignition Interlock Device: 1-year mandatory

Super Extreme DUI (BAC of at least .20%)

  • Jail: The minimum term is 45 days but is subject to all, but 14 days may be suspended on the completion of screening for alcohol
  • Fines: Minimum of $3,250
  • Suspended License: Minimum for 90 days
  • Ignition Interlock Device: A mandatory 1-year term as a minimum

Further DUIs

Unquestionably Arizona has very harsh penalties for repeat offenders:

Impaired DUI

  • Jail: The minimum term is 90 days and 30 of those must be served on consecutive terms but is subject to all, but 30 days may be suspended on the completion of screening for alcohol
  • Fines: Minimum of $3,000
  • Suspended License: At least 1 year however an individual may be able to obtain what is known as a restricted license after forty-five days if an ignition interlock device is installed
  • Ignition Interlock Device: A mandatory 1-year term as a minimum

Extreme DUI

  • Jail: Minimum of 120 days (60 served consecutively)
  • Fines: Minimum of $3,250
  • Suspended License: At least 1 year however an individual may be able to obtain what is known as a restricted license after forty-five days if an ignition interlock device is installed
  • Ignition Interlock Device: A mandatory 1-year term as a minimum

Super Extreme DUI

  • Jail: Minimum of 180 days (90 served consecutively)
  • Fines: Minimum of $4,250
  • Suspended License: At least 1 year however an individual may be able to obtain what is known as a restricted license after forty-five days if an ignition interlock device is installed
  • Ignition Interlock Device: A mandatory 1-year term as a minimum

You should also know a third DUI represents a felony offense and carries a mandatory and minimum prison sentence of four months as license revocation for a minimum of one year, an IID requirement for a minimum of two years and in excess of $4,000 in assessments and fines.

Refusing a Breath Or Blood Test in Arizona And Implied Consent

The “implied consent” law on the books in Arizona states following a DUI arrest all drivers must, without exception, provide a breath or blood test. To refuse to do so will be penalized thus:

  • Suspended License 1st offense: 1 year
  • Suspended License 2nd offense: 2 year

Source: Egan, Joshua. “Arizona Drunk Driving Laws and Penalties.” Dui.drivinglaws.org, Nolo, 15 Oct. 2018, https://dui.drivinglaws.org/arizona.php.

Drunk Driving Settlements In Mesa, Arizona

If you were hit by a drunk driver in Mesa, contact the Personal Injury Attorneys at The Bradshaw Firm today. The Bradshaw Firm’s drunk driving accident attorneys have years of experience with car accidents and success with winning drunk driving accident cases in Mesa.

If you or someone you love was injured in a drunk driving accident, is important that you contact us right away so your rights are protected and preserved. Make sure you do not give any statements to the other party or the insurance company to avoid prejudice of your case. Contact us today at 480.835.5553 to schedule a case review and consultation.

*Disclaimer – Your settlement may be different than the numbers above. The average/estimated drunk driving settlements above are provided by online resources. Every case is different.

© 2016-2020 The Bradshaw Firm All Rights Reservrd.

Design, Hosting, Maintenance & SEO by WebTechs.Net

logo-footer