What To Do When You Hit A Road Sign

Hitting a road sign is a moving violation and will usually be enforced by local and state law enforcement. The following is a guide to what you can expect. 

Careless Driving Penalties

If you are distracted, run into a sign or hit some black ice, you may face a careless driving charge. This implies negligence versus a major violation of traffic laws and does not usually lead to the revocation of a driviers license. Fines can run from $50 to $100.

Wreckless Driving Penalties

When a traffic officer makes a determination a driver was not just distracted the driver may be faces chargings for wreckless driving. This means the officer believes the driver was willfully violating traffic laws or had a deliberate disregard for the rules of the road. Often fines can be in excess of $1,000 depending on the local regulations. Traffic school may be mandatory and you risk your drivers license being revoked.

Hit And Run

You may face hit and run charges if you do not contact the police when you have struck a road sign. You must notify police immediately befoe you leave the scene of the accident. If you are not in cell phone reach, you may leave the area to the nearest point you can get coverage and make the call from there. Leaving the scene in many states is a very serious offense and if damage to property has occured you may face very sizeable fines and up to a year in jail.

Extenuating Circumstances

If our steering or brakes malfunction, it is possible you may receive a citation for the operation of a defective for faulty vehicle. In some weather conditions states may just issue a violation for careless driving or driving too fast as opposed to wreckless driving. Conversely, drivers found to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs may face DUI charges as well and these are a great deal more severe.

Talk With One Of Our Car Accident Lawyers In Mesa, Arizona Today

Our personal injury attorneys will ensure you have the finest comprehensive representation. If you need legal help with in a no-fault car accident,  speak with our knowledgable car accident lawyers in Mesa today.

Related Topics:

I Was in a Car Accident Without Insurance and Wasn’t My Fault – Can I Sue the Other Driver?

How Much to Expect From A Car Accident Settlement

Backing Out of a Parking Space and Got Hit. Who’s at Fault?

When To Get An Attorney For A Car Accident?

The Bradshaw Firm is Recognized as One of Arizona’s Top Lawyers

CategoryCar Accident

© 2016-2020 The Bradshaw Firm All Rights Reservrd.

Design, Hosting, Maintenance & SEO by WebTechs.Net

logo-footer